Saturday, 2 June 2018

The Bible -Noah

Army of GodArmy of God by Dennis Bailey

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Army Of God by Dennis Bailey is a Christian fiction novel told over a period of two hundred years in the days of biblical Noah. The story opens centuries after Adam’s fall and expulsion from the garden of Eden. Not far from the garden the descendants of Seth have built a town named Eden. The town is administered by Methuselah and other elders. While Enoch, a town built by Cain’s descendants is the epitome of evil murder and mayhem litter its streets with blood and tears. No one is safe there. Unfortunately, its evil has found a place in Eden. Malluch failed in his bid to pillage the garden of Eden and lost his father and brother when God’s angel massacred their small army. He is determined to turn Eden into the image of Enoch. Only Noah and his family stand in his way.

Dennis Bailey writes a truly heartwarming tale that reads like the expanded version of the biblical account of Noah. Army of God is everything Hollywood’s Noah was not. It doesn’t feel contrived or make Noah look like a demented man who would do better locked up in an asylum. I really loved this Noah because he was just a man with a man’s weaknesses. One of the things that make this book so enjoyable is Noah’s personal struggle with what God had asked him to do, not to mention his family’s doubt. Cain’s city Enoch was a place of unrestrained evil the worst mankind is capable of but in my opinion, Enoch was no better if not worse with people who let bad things happen while telling themselves they couldn’t have done anything differently. There are some truly grim moments that made the joyful moments shine brighter. Army of God is not just for Christians but for anyone looking for a genuine story with heart. I hope this is not the last book Dennis Bailey writes with biblical origins.

Book summary

THE BIBLE TELLS THE STORY OF NOAH’S ARK . . . 
THIS IS THE STORY OF THE PEOPLE WHO LIVED IT

A plot by a rival to kill Noah and his family is thwarted by a beautiful young woman, who joins them as they flee the ancient Biblical city of Eden. Meanwhile, the author of the plot wrests control of the city from Noah’s father and succeeds in turning the hearts of its citizens away from God.

One year later, the Lord reveals His plan to destroy the earth by flood and commands Noah to build an ark. Only the news is met with skepticism and opposition from members of his own family. Eventually, word of the ark reaches Eden, prompting the rival to send an army of five thousand men to destroy it. 

But Noah has an army of his own.

Action, adventure, and suspense combine with the Biblical account of Noah’s Ark to create a heart-pounding page-turner that will stay with you long after the flood waters have receded.




View all my reviews

Sunday, 21 January 2018

Belvedor and the Four CornersBelvedor and the Four Corners by Ashleigh Bello

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Reviewed by Maureen Dangarembizi for Readers' Favorite

Belvedor and the Four Corners (Belvedor Saga, #1) by Ashleigh Bello is a fantasy novel which begins in The Four Corners of the once magical land of Olleb-Yelfra. The Four Corners is a prison for those who are slaves, with only one way in and one way out. Arianna Belvedor is number 22 in the Warrior district and is set to win her freedom on Free Fall day when she turns 18. But all her well-laid plans go awry when she takes up an ill-advised challenge. Death doesn’t take her, but it strips away everything she ever believed. The world that she thought she knew is a lie and the freedom she’s worked for is false. With the help of her friends, Arianna must escape The Four Corners and restore the Golden Age.

I absolutely loved Ashleigh Bello’s blending of fantasy, a Hunger Games like scenario and adventure. This is a well-written book that is literally 'unputdownable.' There was so much action and unexpected twists in this story that I was kept on the edge of my seat the whole time. There is nothing predictable about the sequence of events that leads Arianna to her friends and their dangerous trip to freedom. Ashleigh Bello knows how to set up a mystery. It was so much fun discovering things that had been laid out for future revelation from the beginning. The world of Olleb-Yelfra is a well-developed and fascinating place, at least the little I’ve seen so far. I can’t wait to read the next two books in this series. One of the things I loved about Belvedor and the Four Corners is the inner strength of those who were viewed as weak slaves. It made the main character's victory so much sweeter in the end. An awesome book by a truly talented writer. Great work!



View all my reviews

Book Summary

Belvedor and the Four Corners is a recipient of the 2017 Indie B.R.A.G. Medallion Award. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games or Divergent with all the charms only a true fantasy can provide, you can't go wrong with this bewitching new saga!

slave city.
tyrannical king.
spellbinding secret.
warrior with a dormant gift.
One girl to change the course of history.

Seventeen-year-old Arianna Belvedor has only ever dreamed of winning her freedom from the Four Corners - a cold and cruel city where all the children of the world are locked away until getting the chance to earn their rights to citizenship at eighteen.

Arianna is just months away from having her turn, and her skills as a warrior will surely give her an edge during the final battle at the annual Free Falls Festivals - 'Free for the slaves who earn their citizenship. Falls for the ones who die.' But her talent with a sword doesn't outmaneuver the burning curiosities of her heart, leading her to unearth a shocking yet spectacular secret about the King and his tyranny.

The world as she knows it is a lie. And the King that she serves didn't earn his crown... he stole it.

Immerse yourself in this addictive new fantasy series as Arianna Belvedor takes on her dark and dangerous world to uncover its magic and more than earn her rights to freedom.

Don't miss the next books in Ashleigh Bello's enchanting saga, including Belvedor and the King's Curse and Belvedor and the Desert of Secrets.