Wednesday, 3 October 2018

Throne Of Glass nearing the end :(

To say I like this series would be an understatement. I love it! So in honor of the last book coming out this month I'm doing these reviews so that if you haven't read it before you don't miss out on the goodies. Fan's of Game of Thrones will love this series.

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


I just loved Celaena Sardothien!!!! After a long, long GOT drought I was looking for a little something to tide me over until 2019. I don't regret picking up this series. I don't know why I didn't know about it since it's been around for some time. But thank God I finally did. This book is just da bomb.

Celaena has self-styled herself to be the greatest assassin the world. Unfortunately she isn't at her best after a year at Endovier prison when Crown Prince Dorian offers her her freedom. The condition: she must beat the kingdom's best assassins and become the King's champion. Celeana hates the King who sits on the glass throne but the promise of freedom is too sweet to turn down.

What follows is a spellbinding tale of love, magic and fate. I loved this female lead not only because she's an assassin but because she also had compassion and a weakness for pretty dresses. I can't wait to read the next book.

View all my reviews

Book Summary

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king's council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she'll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she's bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her ... but it's the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead ... quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.


Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2)
Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


The story continues with my favorite assassin playing a dangerous game. For every assassination the King of Ardaland demands Carleana devices ways to save them. With a romance developing between her and Chaol the danger mounts. Can she survive the heartbreak to come?
The evil that inhabits the glass castle doesn't rest. The plot is magical.

Book Summary

"A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached.

It puts this entire castle in jeopardy—and the life of your friend."


From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena's world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie... and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.



View all my reviews

Saturday, 2 June 2018

The Bible -Noah

Army of GodArmy of God by Dennis Bailey

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Army Of God by Dennis Bailey is a Christian fiction novel told over a period of two hundred years in the days of biblical Noah. The story opens centuries after Adam’s fall and expulsion from the garden of Eden. Not far from the garden the descendants of Seth have built a town named Eden. The town is administered by Methuselah and other elders. While Enoch, a town built by Cain’s descendants is the epitome of evil murder and mayhem litter its streets with blood and tears. No one is safe there. Unfortunately, its evil has found a place in Eden. Malluch failed in his bid to pillage the garden of Eden and lost his father and brother when God’s angel massacred their small army. He is determined to turn Eden into the image of Enoch. Only Noah and his family stand in his way.

Dennis Bailey writes a truly heartwarming tale that reads like the expanded version of the biblical account of Noah. Army of God is everything Hollywood’s Noah was not. It doesn’t feel contrived or make Noah look like a demented man who would do better locked up in an asylum. I really loved this Noah because he was just a man with a man’s weaknesses. One of the things that make this book so enjoyable is Noah’s personal struggle with what God had asked him to do, not to mention his family’s doubt. Cain’s city Enoch was a place of unrestrained evil the worst mankind is capable of but in my opinion, Enoch was no better if not worse with people who let bad things happen while telling themselves they couldn’t have done anything differently. There are some truly grim moments that made the joyful moments shine brighter. Army of God is not just for Christians but for anyone looking for a genuine story with heart. I hope this is not the last book Dennis Bailey writes with biblical origins.

Book summary

THE BIBLE TELLS THE STORY OF NOAH’S ARK . . . 
THIS IS THE STORY OF THE PEOPLE WHO LIVED IT

A plot by a rival to kill Noah and his family is thwarted by a beautiful young woman, who joins them as they flee the ancient Biblical city of Eden. Meanwhile, the author of the plot wrests control of the city from Noah’s father and succeeds in turning the hearts of its citizens away from God.

One year later, the Lord reveals His plan to destroy the earth by flood and commands Noah to build an ark. Only the news is met with skepticism and opposition from members of his own family. Eventually, word of the ark reaches Eden, prompting the rival to send an army of five thousand men to destroy it. 

But Noah has an army of his own.

Action, adventure, and suspense combine with the Biblical account of Noah’s Ark to create a heart-pounding page-turner that will stay with you long after the flood waters have receded.




View all my reviews

Sunday, 21 January 2018

Belvedor and the Four CornersBelvedor and the Four Corners by Ashleigh Bello

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Reviewed by Maureen Dangarembizi for Readers' Favorite

Belvedor and the Four Corners (Belvedor Saga, #1) by Ashleigh Bello is a fantasy novel which begins in The Four Corners of the once magical land of Olleb-Yelfra. The Four Corners is a prison for those who are slaves, with only one way in and one way out. Arianna Belvedor is number 22 in the Warrior district and is set to win her freedom on Free Fall day when she turns 18. But all her well-laid plans go awry when she takes up an ill-advised challenge. Death doesn’t take her, but it strips away everything she ever believed. The world that she thought she knew is a lie and the freedom she’s worked for is false. With the help of her friends, Arianna must escape The Four Corners and restore the Golden Age.

I absolutely loved Ashleigh Bello’s blending of fantasy, a Hunger Games like scenario and adventure. This is a well-written book that is literally 'unputdownable.' There was so much action and unexpected twists in this story that I was kept on the edge of my seat the whole time. There is nothing predictable about the sequence of events that leads Arianna to her friends and their dangerous trip to freedom. Ashleigh Bello knows how to set up a mystery. It was so much fun discovering things that had been laid out for future revelation from the beginning. The world of Olleb-Yelfra is a well-developed and fascinating place, at least the little I’ve seen so far. I can’t wait to read the next two books in this series. One of the things I loved about Belvedor and the Four Corners is the inner strength of those who were viewed as weak slaves. It made the main character's victory so much sweeter in the end. An awesome book by a truly talented writer. Great work!



View all my reviews

Book Summary

Belvedor and the Four Corners is a recipient of the 2017 Indie B.R.A.G. Medallion Award. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games or Divergent with all the charms only a true fantasy can provide, you can't go wrong with this bewitching new saga!

slave city.
tyrannical king.
spellbinding secret.
warrior with a dormant gift.
One girl to change the course of history.

Seventeen-year-old Arianna Belvedor has only ever dreamed of winning her freedom from the Four Corners - a cold and cruel city where all the children of the world are locked away until getting the chance to earn their rights to citizenship at eighteen.

Arianna is just months away from having her turn, and her skills as a warrior will surely give her an edge during the final battle at the annual Free Falls Festivals - 'Free for the slaves who earn their citizenship. Falls for the ones who die.' But her talent with a sword doesn't outmaneuver the burning curiosities of her heart, leading her to unearth a shocking yet spectacular secret about the King and his tyranny.

The world as she knows it is a lie. And the King that she serves didn't earn his crown... he stole it.

Immerse yourself in this addictive new fantasy series as Arianna Belvedor takes on her dark and dangerous world to uncover its magic and more than earn her rights to freedom.

Don't miss the next books in Ashleigh Bello's enchanting saga, including Belvedor and the King's Curse and Belvedor and the Desert of Secrets.