Friday, 31 May 2019

DAWN of AFFLICTION: America's Last Days (Last Dawn Trilogy Book 1)DAWN of AFFLICTION: America's Last Days by D.I. Telbat

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Dawn of Affliction is the first book in the Last Dawn Trilogy by D. I. Telbat. It’s been two decades since Pan-Day and the collapse of the United States. Following the death of his father, Levi Caspertein takes himself and what’s left of his family on a journey across the country from San Diego to New York. Levi’s father was a member of COIL a Christian military group that has a secret cache of lethal weapons that the Pacific States military wants. With the Brogdon’s following them from behind and unknown dangers ahead Levi is hard put to keep everyone safe. Facing cold-hearted killers is made much more difficult when your faith demands mercy. Will Levi be able to maintain his Christian values as the danger around him mounts.

I don’t know where to begin in my praise for this amazing series opener. Dawn Of Affliction will astound and leave a warm feeling in your heart scene after scene. There’s a lot of fiction out there claiming to be Christian but this book by D. I. Telbat is the real deal. In this tale of trial, forgiveness and hope the characters are challenged to the maximum to prove their faith. Levi is like so many biblical heroes in his journey. He’s a Moses leading his people out of Egypt. A David sparing King Saul’s life in spite of the danger. Jonah trusting God’s will even when it seemed out of place. The author truly gives us a story full of life lessons for any believer today. I can’t wait to read Dawn of Oppression coming out in the fall of 2019.

My favorite Levi Caspertein quote:- ‘You’re better off in God’s hands than mine.”

Book Summary

DAWN OF AFFLICTION by D.I. TELBAT is Book One of the LAST DAWN TRILOGY, a Christian Post-apocalyptic, End Times Novel. 

Twenty years have passed since the Meridia Virus ravaged America. Cities have burned and civilization has crumbled. One hundred million have died, leaving behind a suspicious, selfish populace in small settlements across the scarred landscape. 

But out of the charred ruins of San Diego, Levi Caspertein emerges. For twenty years, he’s grown up in the shadow of his heroic father, Titus. Now, Levi must respond on his own to a disturbing communication he receives from New York. An old friend, Jenna Dowler, is in trouble. 

With bold faith, Levi sets off on foot to the east, crossing desert wasteland into the Plains Zone where travelers are sooner shot than welcomed. Behind him, a rogue military general—who wants COIL’s stockpiled weaponry—is chasing him. But Levi won’t be hindered unnecessarily for his trek east, even with his mother and cousin in tow, and he stands courageously for Jesus Christ. 

At every town and resupply stop, Levi is thrust into fresh misery, violence, and strife. Each person who joins him is put at risk, but every enemy who stands against him must look down his barrel of determination to care first for the afflicted. He is a Caspertein. He is a Christian. And America desperately needs a symbol of hope—a new dawn—in her smoking ruin. 

The needs are intense and God's people are ready, but evil has never been more brutal . . . 

Read Dawn of Affliction, a 123,000-word novel, which follows the COIL and STEADFAST timeline. (You may want to first read The STEADFAST Series, in which the setting is similar in America's Last Days after the pandemic, though there is no character connection between the two series.) Bonuses included: an author note, three FREE maps, a glossary, a character sketch, and a teaser of Book Two of the series, Dawn of Oppression

In America’s Last Days, only the steadfast will survive! 

View all my reviews

Thursday, 16 May 2019

The Unchosen: Book One of The Queen BeyondThe Unchosen: Book One of The Queen Beyond by Simon Markusson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is an ARC review

The Unchosen by Simon Markusson is book one in The Queen Beyond high fantasy series. Alwarul the Old is an ancient wizard powerful beyond imagination but long forgotten in the world of men. Realizing that he’s coming to the end of his life he goes on a desperate search for knowledge that could restore and perhaps extend his life. In so doing he awakens an ancient evil that will destroy the world of the living. But all is not lost, the goddess has chosen a hero to vanquish the darkness. Tired of his life as a farm hand Nathelion Nightshadow is quick to join the crazy old man’s quest if it means leaving his old life behind. He doesn’t believe in the darkness, demons or the Queen Beyond. But what will he do if he discovers that the old man is not crazy after all?

After finishing the last page I am left with this unquenchable desire to know what happens next. The Unchosen is truly an epic tale filled with humor, magic and non-stop adventure. The dynamic between the characters is outstanding and makes for some awesome dialogue. I must commend Simon Markusson on creating not only lovable characters but making the reader feel a part of the crew. The dwarf Molgrimin gave me many laugh out loud moments and teary ones too. As for the unlikely hero Nathelion, his story is a revelation. From being a farm hand to an acting-hero then having his world turned topsy turvy again when he discovers that the quest is real. I am officially a fan and I’m sure fans of Lord of the Rings and other high fantasy will enjoy this book too.

Book Summary

Everyone believes he’s the Chosen One. They’ve made a horrible mistake.
Cynical farmhand Nathelion Nightshadow could use a change of scenery. So when a madman claiming to be a wizard mistakenly identifies him as a hero foretold in prophecy, he eagerly plays along for a free and adventurous journey. But he would have stayed home if he’d known the flattering title came with such deadly baggage.
Joined by a ragtag band of followers with more lofty ideals than common sense, Nathelion marches toward a noble destiny he borrowed for personal gain. But as they draw ever closer to the Chosen One’s fate, the skeptical imposter begins believing in something bigger than himself. Especially when that bigger thing is an ancient evil that wants to sever his limbs.
Will Nathelion’s little white lie get his party killed and destroy the world?
The Unchosen is the witty first novel in the Queen Beyond epic fantasy series. If you enjoy unlikely heroes, sweeping storylines, and madcap comedy, you’ll love Simon Markusson’s satirical tale.

View all my reviews